Right Place For Bright Moments

Lubomira Mlcuchova

Limassol, Cyprus
+357 99898662
light.corner@primehome.com

Mums in Cyprus web interview

18/10/2010 15:16

Spotlight on Mumpreneurs - Lubomira Mlcuchova

 

We have many working mothers in our MiC community, whether as employees in companies or self-employed and running their own business.
All have one thing in common: trying to achieve a harmonious work/life balance under sometimes very stressful circumstances.

Being your own boss however, has the added pressure of financial responsibility - when there’s no monthly income guarantee the daily challenges seem greater. On the other hand it is endlessly rewarding to be fulfilling your dreams and ambitions, and these mumpreneurs often are an inspiration to others.

Our weekly interview blog puts the spotlight on these entrepreneurial women among us: who are they, what do they do and how do they do it.

Today, it is my pleasure to introduce Lubomira Mlcuchova (MiC nickname ‘light_corner’), owner of 'Light Corner', a holistic physiotherapy and life-style consultancy.

luba.jpg

Hi Luba. How and when did you come up with the idea for your business and what inspired you to become self employed?

When I first came to Cyprus, I worked in a Hotel's Fitness Club, then in a Hotel Spa, and I realized after previously working in a highly specialized clinic in Slovakia, that being a full time hotel employee is not for me. Around the same time I met a Slovak wife of a Cypriot doctor, who introduced me to my very first private patient, and that was beginning of my private career. For a few years I only had out patients, providing home visits, treating people with movement disabilities sustained after suffering a stroke, or recovering from surgery, spinal problems etc, and cooperated with a beauty salon where I was able to utilise one treatment room. In spring 2009 I found a place for myself, with windows facing west, giving me direct sunshine for the entire afternoon. That is the reason why I call it “LIGHT CORNER”.

What business achievement are you most proud of?

I am proud that after a number of years I now have a good name among my clients, and so far most of them left my practice with significant pain relief or at least with a good feeling from my treatments. I am a holistic physiotherapist and life-style consultant, so I can treat, heal, advise and use my “powers”!

A lot of new start-up businesses run out of steam when the going gets tough. Was there ever a time when you doubted yourself?


I don’t doubt myself, my qualities or my “healing hands”. At a certain time, I was just a bit concerned and sad that people do not take their health issues seriously. In Cyprus, prevention is not sufficiently considered an important part of life-style.

Being your own boss means there are no mentors to learn from. Who do you go to for business advice?

Business wise I have learned (and am still learning) a lot from business networking meetings, and profession wise I keep attending seminars in Slovakia every year. Being with touch with my colleagues, classmates, and internet researching helps as well.

What have you learned about yourself since becoming self employed?

I enjoy the freedom of being self employed, but on the other hand it requires responsibility, discipline and lots of effort to find, gain and keep good clients.

Do you feel you have achieved a good work/life balance?

Yes definitely. I have enough time for myself, studying, reading and self-development, which helps me later to better understand needs and solve the problems of my clients.

If you could give one piece of advice to an aspiring ‘Mumpreneur’ starting out today, what would it be?

Believe in yourself, have a faith and be patient.

What are your future plans for your business?


I would like to expand my services for organizing seminars and workshops for individuals, companies and firms. Preventive workshops where you can learn about basic daily routines, how to protect your spine and how to prevent spinal problems, also holistic explanations of major health issues and how to listen to and understand our body signals.

Thank you very much for your time. Best wishes for continued success and happiness, both in your professional and private life.

Thanks.